Luckily I have got 2 systems one with  RHEL6 and one OEL4  for me to test, thanks to my new company:). So the command that I would like to share today is SS, “socket stats” similar to the netstat command which I got to know only recently ( might be bcos i was sleeping all the while [smiley] )when I was short of work one day @ office.

I don’t want to duplicate the entire man page here  Iam just giving couple of output lines. My humble suggestion to any learner is to always refer the MAN page of the command as it would have lot many options for you to experiment. Well I should say that one option I liked most in this command is –memory. So explore this command now !

 

[root@TestPC ~]# ss -pl

Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address:Port Peer Address:Port
0 0 *:nfs *:*
0 0 *:844 *:* users:((“rpc.rquotad”,9144,4))
0 0 *:32943 *:*
0 0 *:sunrpc *:* us

 

[root@TestPC ~]# ss -o state established
Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address:Port Peer Address:Port
0 0 127.0.0.1:6009 127.0.0.1:32769

 

 

 

 

